Final Woodland Brief

After struggling with this personal brief for the majority of the year, I feel that the final pieces that I ended up creating were better than I would’ve ever expected. Although at times it felt like a long and never-ending battle, trying to bring all my ideas into a coherent and focused path…my journal set has brought together all the visual ideas and all the theoretical ideas I had into a product that not only looks nice, but is functional too.

The journal set provides the perfect way of connecting people with their natural surroundings; the flexagon acts as a guide to lead people through a woodland (the woodland will be any woodland the person reading the guide has visited before; for me it is Conigree Woods in Gloucestershire). The language used and the abstract illustrations allow the people to use the guide in location, but also somewhere completely different, using their imaginations to follow the guide.

Journal Set

Journal Set

Journal Set

Journal Set

Journal Set - Flexagon

Journal Set – Flexagon

Within the set there is also a blank journal to allow people to record their reactions and connections with the landscape, as well as a small pocket for trinkets found on their travels.

Blank Journal

Blank Journal

As this is the project I am intending on continuing on my fine art MA next year, I don’t feel as bad about how long it has taken me to get to this conclusion, because ultimately this is only the beginning of this project, I am looking forward to seeing how it develops from a fine art perspective next year…

Leave a comment